top of page
Search
  • jhisey

New Camera, New Love

Updated: Jul 27, 2020

In 2009, I purchased my first DSLR camera, a Nikon D90 with an 18-105 lens with 4.5 aperature. Why did I decide on Nikon over Canon? For the same reason someone chooses Nike over Adidas or Reebok - you like the brand. I read a few reviews on both and decided on the Nikon. Both cameras are equally great in performance and quality, I liked the Nikon brand.

I opened the box in the car on the ride home. I assembled it turned it on and if I recall it had a charge. So I started snapping out the window, my son in the backseat and my husband driving. I was so excited to get shooting like a pro! Guess what? It that was not the case.


“I advise anyone starting out in photography to invest in your lenses. Your lens will allow you to be more creative and capture images you will love.”

I started my shooting in automatic mode. I was certain that because I now owned a pro camera, my photos will look that much better. Ha ha... who was I kidding? I knew nothing about shooting in manual mode or basic photography fundamentals. So, when I looked over my photos, I experienced a rush of disappointment when they didn't look at all professional!


Invest in the best lenses!

If I can give any advice to a budding photographer considering investing in a DSLR, I'd definitely tell you to purchase a good lens. My one regret was that my 18-105 lens was not capable of creating amazing bokeh shots, and my portraits could never achieve that amazing dept of field that is possible with a 1.8 or 2.8 prime lens. Great photos start with the best lens, not the best camera body. Start with a prime lens with a small aperature, and as you get comfortable with shooting and can afford it, add new quality lenses to your kit.


Depending on what type of photography you want to get into, select the lens that best fits for your artistic direction.





If your're seriously considering getting into photography and are looking to purchase a pro-level camera, check out this video which highlights Nikon reviews of 6 of their top pro camera bodies.




31 views1 comment
bottom of page